Questions and Answers - Vegetarian Gelatin Substitution
Agar, Agar-Agar, Kanten - How To Substitute Gelatin

  Home    |   Recipe Indexes   |   Dinner Party Menus   |   Food History   |   Diet - Health - Beauty

Baking Corner |  Regional Foods | Cooking Articles Hints & Tips | Culinary Dictionary | Newspaper Columns


Search What's Cooking America


Question:

Hello, every time I find a recipe for chocolate or white chocolate mousse it always asks for gelatin.  We are vegetarians and would prefer a substitution or any other suggestions! Thanks for a great website!

Answers:

Agar - (know as agar-agar and kanten depending on the source) is a vegetarian gelatin. It's a whitish color, and comes in either sticks, flakes, granules  or powder, usually in a little packet.  Most health food stores seem to carry it in with the Japanese foodstuffs, or along with the more familiar  seaweeds (dulse, kalp, wakame, etc.).

For a gelatin dessert, you use two tablespoons of flaked agar to 3.5 cups of liquid. The granulated form is twice as strong as the flaked; the powdered is three times as strong.   Play around with the concentrations to get the right 'wiggliness' for you, since too much produces some real textures.

 


 

Contact Linda Stradley - By Google

What's Cooking America© copyright 2004 by Linda Stradley - United States Copyright TX 5-900-517- All rights reserved. - Privacy Policy